top of page
  • Writer's pictureMorgan

5 STEPS to keeping your New Years Resolutions all year round

Updated: Dec 28, 2017

Everybody tends to make promises to themselves on one specific day of the year. Promises that usually will not last after February but occasionally make it to March. New Years Day. Ahh yes, that promise you made to yourself that you would drop ten pounds, or that you would eat healthier, maybe that you would be more efficient in your work or that you would read that book that has been on the shelf for 2 years. Whatever your resolution, I think we can almost all find something in common: they just do not last.



So, I have put together some tips for sticking with it through this coming year:


· MAKE SURE YOUR GOAL IS REACHABLE! I know we all want to do spectacular things: solve world hunger, unmask the secrets of space, generate world peace. And trust me those would all be great and you should always dream big… but you will only discourage yourself if you don’t reach your goal by December. So moderate your goals at first, then work your way up as you accomplish them.


· WRITE IT DOWN! I don’t know about you but my brain can not keep track of every date and plan I need to remember. So writing things down is a must for me to stay on track. Get a planner or calendar and WRITE IT ALL DOWN like what you want accomplished, what you’ve reached so far and update it throughout the year. Even give yourself checkpoints on key dates to help you stay on track.


· MAKE SHORT TERM GOALS TOO! Plan out your long term goal (i.e. drop 12lbs this year) then, separate it into shorter more easily accomplished goals (drop one pound each month). You will find it easier to work towards your goal with little steps rather than to try to tackle it all at once. Like they say: How do you eat an elephant? One bite at a time.


· FIND AN ACCOUNTABILITY PARTNER! Maybe you have a friend who has similar goals for this year like you, arrange your resolution with them and ask them to help you stay accountable and likewise with them. It helps I promise!


· STAY MOTIVATED! Different people are motivated by different things but I know one thing, chocolate motivates me! Perhaps just the idea of accomplishing your goal or having bragging rights that you made it all 12 months is enough for you. Or maybe yours is a shopping day or cheat day; whatever your case make sure you have something to look forward to for all your perseverance.



Now sadly, I cannot promise you stunning results by simply reading this article; so go put it to practice yourself now! I have faith in you, you can do it. So, go crush it this year and make up your mind that 2018 is going to be your year to get something done!

27 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
  • Black Instagram Icon

scroll through my instagram feed above and visit my page @the_freckled.photographer

instagram:

@

the.freckled_photographer

  • Pinterest - Black Circle
  • Instagram - Black Circle
bottom of page