top of page
  • Writer's pictureMorgan

HOW TO: the Lazy Bun



After so many requests I finally got around to answering the question: how do you do that bun??? It is always my "go-to" hairstyle because it is simple and keeps my hair out of my face and off my neck. I have tried to explain it to people in words and they just give me a blank stare so hopefully the pictures give you a clearer understanding.


First, I start out by throwing my head down and letting my hair hang in front.

Then, I gather it all at the point I want my bun to be. (for example if I want my bun further back on my head I gather it further back according to where I want the finished bun)


TIP: the "dirtier" your hair the bigger your bun. I always put L.A. Looks hair gel in my hair right after a shower to give it a good texture and volume.


Second, I begin twisting the hair in my hand until it is like one long rope.

Then, I flip my head back up.


TIP: the tighter you twist the smaller your bun will be


Third, I wrap the "rope," as I called it, around itself in a circular motion until I reach the end.

Honestly, this is the hardest part because If you don't wrap it tight enough at the base everything will collapse.


Then, I slip my hair tie right over the top of my soon-to-be bun just to kind of hold the hair in its place just like you would for a pony tail.

Except, I only usually rap the tie around twice whereas with a pony tail you may do three or so. In other words, keep it loose!



While holding the hair in shape with one hand, use the other to grab a bobby pin or two.

Personally I prefer the large bobby pins because my hair is thick and heavy.


I stick a bobby pin pretty much anywhere I feel like it

Normally, I can get buy with about 3-4 but if it is going to be a crazy day then I will add more:)


In my opinion the messier the better so don't do not stress over imperfectness... remember, it's called the LAZY bun!


And there you have it! That's about the simplest way to explain without a video or one on one explanation. I hope this outlines it well enough and can help you find a new last-minute hairstyle. Oh, and don't forget your hair spray!!!!




63 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
  • Black Instagram Icon

scroll through my instagram feed above and visit my page @the_freckled.photographer

instagram:

@

the.freckled_photographer

  • Pinterest - Black Circle
  • Instagram - Black Circle
bottom of page